top of page

The KTM Thor Racing Team on top of the podium in Nanaimo

Nanaimo, BC – The KTM Thor Racing Team

showed up “Ready To Race” to the second round of

the CMRC Canadian Motocross National and led both

MX1 & MX2 races. The tight and hard pack track of

the Wastelands did not stop Thompson & Millsaps

from crossing the checkered flag in 1 st place.

Just as he did one year ago, Cole Thompson used

his smooth throttle control and fluid riding style to take

home the overall victory on the though Nanaimo

track. In the first MX2 moto of the day, Cole got off to

a great start and sat in 2 nd position waiting for the right

moment to make the pass. Thompson found his way

around on lap seventh and checked out from there.

The second moto was even better for Cole as he

grabbed the Holeshot and rode a flawless race to the

checkered flag. With a dominating 1-1 moto finish on

his 2016 KTM 250 SX-F, Thompson commented:

“There is something with me and Nanaimo. I felt

really comfortable on my bike and the track just fit me

and my riding style. I am really happy to leave with

the red plate and will continue to work hard to keep

it”.

In the MX1 class, Davi Millsaps was able to adjust

really fast to the layout that the Wastelands track has

to offer. Both times, when the gate dropped, he

showed no hesitation and grabbed the lead early into

the race. Millsaps’ weekend could have been perfect

as he led both motos and finished on top of the

podium twice. Unfortunately, Davi was docked 10

spots for jumping on a Red Cross flag in the first MX1

race, leaving him with 4th overall on the day. He is

now sitting 2 nd in the MX1 Championship with only 4

points behind the leader. “I know who won today. It

was very unfortunate to have that happen in the first

moto, I felt really good and I never saw the Red Cross

flag at all. When moto two began, I wanted to get the

lead early and ride my own race. Everything is feeling

really good right now and I’m looking forward to

another new track in Calgary next weekend.”

MX1 Rookie, Kaven Benoit, had a great early race in the first 450 moto of the day. Benoit worked his way

from 6 th to 4 th during the first half of the race while battling with the top contingents. However, Kaven broke his

chain due to a rock and had to go back to the pits and wait for the 2 nd moto. On the second gate drop, the #11

did not get the start he wanted and had to work his way through the pack to a 7 th place. “Overall it wasn’t a

good weekend for me. Before my bad luck happened in the first heat I was really confident I could get a

podium and this is what I’m going to focus on for the next round.”

With two overall wins, the KTM Thor Racing Team will travel to Alberta for the 3rd round of the series at theWild Rose Motocross Park in Calgary.

Posts à l'affiche
Posts Récents
Archives
Rechercher par Tags
Pas encore de mots-clés.
Retrouvez-nous
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page