top of page

Anything is possible. Ashley Fiolek


You had an incredible career in the women's motocross world, you’re still

very young, in good shape but you took your retirement of racing when you

were at the top, why?

I quit racing because the series for the women was going backwards.

Each race something was being taken away from the women. I didn't want

to risk racing and injury for what the series was becoming. Now there’s, no

exposure, no teams, no money. Women were not getting even close to the

same treatment as the men racing the same day at the Nationals . It was

something that I've grown up racing professional female motocross racer &

being treated like men in motocross racer ,but unfortunately they didn't.

What is your best memory about your racing career?

Probably when I won my first professional female motocross championship

(called the WMA then) in my rookie year & when I won my first X Games

gold medal for Super X

Winning races, fans, great battle in race with Patterson, do you miss it?

Of course, I'll always miss all of that. I had some great races with Patterson

and other racers. Riding will always be a passion of mine, even if I don’t

race :)

We all know that motocross is a dangerous sport, You managed to keep

bad injuries away How did you manage to do that?

I was lucky. I had some injuries along the way for sure. In 2008 I broke my

collarbone in the last moto of the last race of the championship. I had to

ride and finish pretty decent ,in order to win the championship. In my

career I also had the best doctor (Dr.Augustine) in Florida that he always

makes sure I heal quickly and what's the best for me to get back racing as

soon as I am.

You are one of the few Mx female athletes who sign contracts with big

sponsors, how did it help you out and impact your career?

It was absolutely blessed to sign contracts with big sponsors. They helped

me a lot with exposure, traveling & money, good equipment. Good

sponsors with positive attitudes does affect me so it was helpful.

You're a part of the elite who paved the way for women in motocross, how

do you see your sport today?

Unfortunately, my sport isn't the same right now as when I raced. I am

happy that for the time when the it was the WMA and the first year or two

as the WMX, as well as the X Games were able to hopefully show the

world that motocross is for women too and inspire other girls to follow their

passion. I would love to see it to be great again or even better than before

in some day.

Is there anything they can do to improve the WMX ?

Go back to having the women at the Nationals or create a series that is like

that, and start treating female motocross like guys, exposure, factory rides,

same schedule as guys and money.

How can you explain the low participation of girls in WMX race?

I think it is because there’s not much support. The WMX is now at these

different amateur races spread out across the US. It is expensive to travel,

the factory teams are not at the Amateur races (so now there’s no jobs for

women as professional racers), there’s no real media at these races so the

women have little chance of growing their fans. If the races were part of

the nationals again, many more women would show up. They want the

same dream the guys want and that is race for a living.

Tell us about your training school?

It's awesome! I love working with all different levels of riders. I work on

proper technique, which is important for recreational riders as well as

racers, the proper technique you will become smoother and faster on the

track (and safer). I work with them on everything from braking and

cornering, starts, etc I do one on one lessons and small group schools.

The site is www.afmxschool.com.

As kid, you started on 2 strokes, you raced your professional career on 4

strokes... Now, you ride for fun... And returned on a smoker (2 strokes)

why?

I've always loved 2 strokes. It's so fun and much lighter so it's easier to

throw that bike around and Husqvarna asked me to rep for them so I can't

thank them enough for badass 2 stroke 125 bike :)

You bite into life, you’re an inspiration for a lot of girls out there... until what

age we will see you on a bike?

Like I said, riding will always be my passion. I'll ride until I can't move

anymore. Ha, ha, ha,

We see you still have some sponsors are there you would like to thank –

Yes, I want to thank Husqvarna, Fox Racing, my newest sponsors – Moon

Shine Camo and Monster Moto (they make mini bikes for under $450

retail) – we have some cool plans for later this year as well as Factory

Connection Throttle Jockey graphics, FMF, Ogio, and Bel Ray.

Anything to say to all the girls out there that dreams of making it to top?

Anything is possible! Keep working hard and reach your dreams and it will

come to you

AF67

Posts à l'affiche
Posts Récents
Archives
Rechercher par Tags
Pas encore de mots-clés.
Retrouvez-nous
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page