top of page

Ryan Gauld

M: Ryan, what is your background? Medias brought you to MX or MX brought you to medias?

RG: I have been racing for 30 years so that’s how I got into the media game. My career was good with many accolades I’m very proud of. I have done it all in the Canadian market, and even announced in the US for Arenacross. Getting into the media side of things just sort of fell in my lap back in 2008 when I was hired by MXP mag. I ran and managed it for 5 years until I had enough of working for a boss that I was not a fan of. We parted ways, and I started GuaranteedMX. It’s been going strong since May 31st2013. I’m very happy with the following I’ve built in such a short time. I still race a bit; as well run South Western Ontario with a club I’ve named Amateur Motocross Ontario (AMO). Some go to university or College to get their degree. I have a degree in Motocross.

IM: You bring fun to the sport through your mic! You break some dull seriousness of the championship and make the riders reachable to the public. Did you miss a career as a stand up comedian or as an actor (laughs)?

RG: Hahaha. I’m only funny in my own element (Laughs). I just love putting on a show for the fans that follow the sport. They deserve to be entertained over and above just watching the race. When I’m on the mic I want the fans to feel like they’re part of the show. The racers are heroes, the fans want to be them, and so I try and bring them as close to each other as I can by pushing my passion through the mic. Unfortunately I was not a part of the 2015 series which sucked, but when I was there I know my passion as missed. I’m confident knowing there is nobody that can make a fan be part of the sport like I can at a race. I know this because I am a fan and racer. I get both sides, and then I just merge them together on the mic. It sounds kind of corny, but I’m good at that part of the job.

IM: Who impresses you more in the industry of MX in the present time in Canada and why?

RG: Hmm, that’s a tough question. The industry is full of people that just have a job in it. They don’t really care where it goes or what people want. I get it; it’s just a paycheck to some. That’s fine. I guess I would say the most impressive person or persons in the moto industry are the ones that take the risk to give racers and their families a spot to enjoy the best sport in the world. Without those people the sport may just die.

IM: You are doing a fantastic journalistic job working at Guaranteed MX. I love it because you do not sugarcode your news! What are your main goals as a MX media?

RG: Thank you for saying that. I enjoy what I do so that makes it easier sometimes to get the work done. As far as goals, I have no idea right now. I’m just trying to deliver the best news possible to the people that follow GuaranteedMX. I do have my own flare or things unlike other media outlets. I don’t just follow the rules, and that’s why people enjoy what I can deliver. Sometimes people get upset, but it’s usually because the news is true.

IM: What were the highlights of the season 2015 in your opinion?

RG: From a national standpoint it has to be the MX1 class. Never have there been four different winners, as well a battle down to the final moto. The stacked field this summer in MX1 was amazing for the sport. No matter if the series was thought of as a joke at times (some people’s opinions, not mine.) Or problems behind the scenes that arose, they would all go away once the gate dropped. Fans that attended an event were treated to one hell of an action packed summer.

IM: Our canadian riders went in Indiana to compete an AMA National there this week-end and did fairly good!

When do you think we could see one/some of them compete in a US SX soon?

RG: Well I did a little interview with Kaven about his trip and his answer was: “This was a treat to me.” Meaning he did it on his own dime and just went for it. Until more racers take the risk and take the shot of going not worrying about what people think, or if their bike is great, or all those What if... deals. Then it will continuously be the same old story of never really seeing Canadians on the US race scene. It’s harder than most think for sure, but sometimes you have to take a shot and go for it. Having a big group like that at Indiana should put a little pep in the step of other races to try in 2016. If not for Supercross then Outdoor at least.

IM: When the season ends, how do you manage from the high intensity with the MX family to some free week ends with your family?? How do you deal with this extreme transition?

RG: That’s kind of the crappy part of running a website/news feed. The job never seems to end. Whether I’m trying to come up with a story or post some social stuff to keep my followers coming back. It’s a 24hr a day job at times because you can do so much on your phone, but I do find downtime. I have a son just under 2 years old who is now the most important thing in my life. I also have another baby due in January so family time is uber important now more than ever. The job requires a lot of my time for sure, but I find ways to keep my sanity outside of moto.


Posts à l'affiche
Posts Récents
Archives
Rechercher par Tags
Pas encore de mots-clés.
Retrouvez-nous
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page